RSS Feed

Dehydrating

Posted on

I’m a huge fan of my dehydrator.  I have an Excalibur Dehydrator – 9 shelf unit.  Before purchasing my Excalibur, I wasn’t so much of a fan.  My food came out “ok” at best.  This one is a dream.  So far everything has turned out perfectly.   In fact, I’m thinking about getting a second unit.  Dehydrated foods take up so much less space!  I do have a food saver but I have to say, I prefer to store in canning jars.  They look so pretty and at times the items can be a little sharp and puncture the bags. 

Tonight I am dehydrating Kale.  Tomorrow I will switch it out with Swiss Chard and beet greens. I will grind these in to green powder and add them to foods for more nutrition.   Then I have some peppers and onions that need attention.  After that I am hoping more strawberries and some blueberries.

I found a wonderful YouTube video that was very helpful to me when I began dehydrating:

How to Dehydrate

There are several parts and they are all so helpful.  If I have time this week I will upload a few videos of my own.

Leave a Reply

