RSS Feed

GAPS Legal Chicken Cacciatore

Posted on

Well I didn’t find an amazing deal yesterday on anything we cvoulf throw on the BBQ today.  Idid find 3 whole free range chickens at 50% off though.  So for dinner we are having Chicken Cacciatore.

I boiled two of the chickens this morning until they fell apart.

Then I picked ther meat off the bones and removed the skin.  I put those all back in the stock pot with the juice.  I will continue to cook this down and make some nice broth.

Here is the Chicken Cacciatore recipe:

1 small walla walla onion, chopped

1 1/2 cups of water

4 small sweet peppers, chopped

1 small can of tomato paste or 1 cup of puree

2 tsp dried oregano

1 tablespoon of minced garlic

4 cups shredded chicken

salt and pepper to taste

I put a small scoop of coconut oil in a frying pan and added the onions and peppers up until they were slightly tender.  I then added in the tomato paste, oregano and garlic…stir well.  Then I added the water and mixed it up well.  Now add the shredded chicken and mix up until blended.  Add Salt and pepper.  Continue to heat until the sauce thickens.

I am serving this over smashed Cauliflower.  This is very easy.  I just steam two heads of Cauliflower until nice and tender.  Remove from heat and smash with a potato smasher.  I then add some butter (or ghee) and salt and pepper until nice and creamy.  That’s it.

I think we’ll also break open another jar of my pickled asparagus I canned a few weeks ago. 

And for dessert…..Watermelon of course!

Leave a Reply

